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Free Cheap Insurance Guides for Google AdWords Tracking Ad Performance

5. Tracking Ad Performance

5a. Quality and Performance Basics

How It Works

Objective: Learn about how quality impacts Google search results, ads, and the performance of your account. Find out how to monitor your performance.

Ad Relevance and Quality 

People use Google because they find what they're looking for fast ― whether it be the latest news, best candy bar, or closest pizzeria. This is the essence of relevance: Google provides users with the most relevant search results based on their search.

However, relevancy doesn't end with our search results. We also work to show the most relevant ads for every search query. This model works for users and advertisers alike: The more relevant the ads are, the more likely users are to click on your ads now and again in the future.

We measure relevancy for search and ads differently.

  • For search results, relevance and ranking are automatically determined by over 100 factors, including Google's patented PageRank algorithm.
  • For AdWords ads, the most important factor in relevance and ranking is the ad's quality, also called the Quality Score. This measurement is the strongest representation of how useful a user has found an ad to be and is central to the AdWords cost-per-click (CPC) pricing model.

How AdWords Monitors Performance 

Quality-based bidding simply means that your keyword's Quality Score determines your minimum bid, or lowest amount you can pay for your ad to run. We use this system to analyze your keyword's performance, to decide whether or not to show your ad (and in what position), and to keep ads as relevant and cost-efficient as possible.

Here's how it works: When you enter a keyword into your account, we look at the following factors:

  1. Your Quality Score: We first determine your keyword's Quality Score. Your Quality Score is based on your keyword's clickthrough rate (CTR) on Google and the relevance of your ad text, keyword, and landing page.
  2. Your minimum bid: Next, we give your keyword a minimum bid based on your Quality Score. Keywords with a high Quality Score are assigned a low minimum bid, and vice versa.
  3. Your CPC bid: Lastly, we look at your CPC bid to determine your keyword state and ad eligibility to show on results pages.
    • If your CPC bid is the same or more than the keyword's minimum bid requirement, your keyword is eligible to trigger ads. It's assigned an active keyword state.
    • If your CPC bid is below the minimum bid requirement, your keyword won't trigger ads to appear. It's assigned an inactive for search keyword state.

How You Can Monitor Performance 

Your account's performance is directly tied to the quality of your keywords, ad text, and bids. Due to the dynamic nature of search, your keyword's Quality Score, minimum bid, and keyword state can fluctuate often. Therefore, it's a good idea to keep regular tabs on your performance and make adjustments as needed.

To analyze your account performance quickly, check the following statistics:

  • Keyword Analysis page: Check the Keyword Analysis page to get a detailed view about your keyword's performance ― including how Quality Score impacts your keyword and ad's performance, and how you can improve it. To launch this page, point your cursor over the magnifying glass icon beside any keyword in your account; then click one of the 'Details and recommendations' links.
  • Keyword Status: View the Status column on the 'Keywords' tab of your Ad Group Details page. Your keyword status indicates whether or not your keyword is triggering ads to appear on search results pages. As mentioned, each of your keywords (except any negative keywords) is identified by a keyword state. Here's the full breakdown:
    • Active: Active keywords have a high enough Quality Score and CPC bid to trigger ads. There's currently little risk to your advertising exposure.
    • Inactive for search: These keywords don't have a high enough Quality Score and CPC bid to trigger ads on Google and the search network (although these keywords may still trigger ads on the content network). This means that the minimum bid is higher than your CPC bid.
    • Disapproved: These keywords don't comply with our Editorial Guidelines or Content Policy and won't trigger ads until you correct the problem.
    • Paused/Deleted: These are keywords you've paused or deleted. They won't enter the ad auction and therefore won't trigger your ads.

    To learn how to enable a keyword that isn't running, visit the Keyword Status troubleshooting topic.

  • CTR Column: View the CTR column on your Campaign Summary page to see how well a campaign is performing. The higher the CTR, the better the campaign is probably doing.
  • Minimum bids: Check your minimum bid by running a Site/Keyword or an Ad Performance report. Choose the Keyword Min CPC field to see how much you're bidding. You can also edit your CPC bid to see your minimum bid. A low minimum bid usually means your ad is performing well.
  • Ads Diagnostic Tool: Point your mouse over the magnifying glass icon next to any keyword on your Ad Group Details page to see if that keyword is showing ads. This provides a quick way to see if active keywords are showing your ads, and if not, the reasons why. To learn more, visit the Ads Diagnostic Tool lesson.
For more in-depth performance tracking, we suggest that you set up conversion tracking or try Google Analytics.

 
 

5b. Ad Visibility and Troubleshooting

Account-Wide Issues

Objective: Learn how to identify and correct issues at the account level that may prevent ads from showing.

Email Verification 

In order to activate your account, you must first verify your email address. If you have not verified your email address and you attempt to sign in to your account, you will receive a message to check your email to verify your email address.

Visit your email account, and open the email verification notice from AdWords. Click the link in the email to verify your email address and access your account. Then, continue with the activation instructions.

Billing Information 

After you verify your email address, the next step is to enter your billing information. If you haven't entered your billing information, you'll see a message when you log in to your AdWords account reminding you to do so.

Click on the link in the message, or click on the My Account tab and then Billing Preferences in your AdWords account to enter your billing information. If you're using a credit card or debit card, be sure to enter the billing address that matches the credit card.

Your ads will appear on Google after you've entered valid credit card or debit card information. In the case of direct debit, a debit authorization may have to be received and processed before your ads will start running. If you choose to pay via prepay, your ads may appear once funds have been received via credit card or bank transfer or after your bank transfer setup is complete.

For more information on the payment options available for your billing location and currency, visit the Billing lesson.

Declined Payment 

If we aren't able to process a payment for your account, your ads will temporarily stop running and you'll receive an email regarding the declined payment. You'll also see a message when you log in to your AdWords account.

If you're not sure why a payment is declined, use the following checklist to figure out possible reasons:

  1. Have you entered valid payment details (such as credit card number or expiration date)?
  2. Do you have sufficient funds in your account, or have you reached your daily, weekly, or monthly spend limit?
  3. Have you entered the correct billing address?
If your payment is still declined, contact the financial institution handling the funds to get more details about a declined payment.

 
 
Campaign-Specific Issues

Objective: Learn how to identify and correct issues at the campaign level that may prevent your ads from showing.

Campaign Status 

If a campaign is Paused, Deleted, or Ended, ads within that campaign will not show. Follow the steps below to reactivate your campaign from your Campaign Summary page:

  • Paused: Check the box next to the name of the campaign, and click the 'Resume' button above the Campaign Summary table.
  • Deleted: Click on the name of the campaign to go to the Campaign Details page. Then click the 'Undelete Campaign' link that appears next to the campaign name.
  • Ended: Change the campaign end date. Check the box next to the name of the campaign, and click 'Edit Settings.' Adjust your end date next to the 'Will run until' section, under the Basic Settings heading.

Daily Budget Settings 

Your ads might not show if your campaign is close to reaching, or has already reached, its daily budget.

To see whether your daily budget is being met, visit your Campaign Summary page, set the date range above the table to yesterday, and compare the Current Budget column with the Cost column. If you exceeded your daily budget yesterday, your ads may stop running before today's daily budget is reached.

We might exceed your daily budget when we determine that your ad can benefit from more exposure on particularly heavy traffic days. However, our system makes sure that in a given billing period, you are never charged more than the number of days in that month multiplied by your daily budget. Visit the Billing lesson for more information.

To view the recommended daily budget for a campaign, or to edit the existing daily budget, go to the Edit Campaign Settings page, and click Recommended Budget. This recommendation will be high enough to capture all of the clicks the system estimates your ads will receive with full exposure.

Remember that this number is only a recommendation, and you should set your daily budget at a level with which you are comfortable. If you don't wish to raise your daily budget, you can try refining your keywords by using the techniques found in the Optimization lessons.

Ads Targeted Outside Your Region 

You can target your campaigns to specific languages and geographic regions. However, if these targets do not include your own language settings and geographic location, you will not be able to see your ads.

  • To view or edit the language targeting for your campaign, check the Languages section under Target Audience on your Edit Campaign Settings page. Ensure that your Google interface language, which you can view by clicking the Preferences link on your Google homepage, is included on the list of selected languages.
  • To view or edit the geographical targeting settings for your campaign, check the Locations section under Target Audience on your Edit Campaign Settings page. Ensure that your own geographic location is included within the geographic regions that you have chosen.
For more information about targeting your ads, visit the Language and Location Targeting lesson.

Campaign Negative Keywords 

If there is overlap between your negative and regular keywords, the negative keyword will block your regular keywords from showing. To ensure that this isn't happening in your campaign, review the negative keywords and making changes where necessary. This will allow your keywords to show your ad.

To learn more about negative keywords, please refer to the Keyword Matching lesson.

The Google Network 

If your ad isn't appearing on sites in the Google Network, check to make sure your campaign is opted in to our content or search networks by visiting your Edit Campaign Settings page (Sign in to your account > Check the appropriate campaign > Click the Edit Settings button). You can opt in to the content or search network under the Networks section on this page.

For ads to show on partner sites, the ads must:

  • Be reviewed and approved
  • Be in a campaign opted-in to the Google Network
  • Meet partner requirements, which vary
To determine whether an ad is showing on our search or content partner network, check the Content Total in your ad group. If no content impressions have accrued, you can check the Average Position column to ensure that your ads have a high enough average position to appear on the Google Network. Many of our partners accept only the ads that rank highest on Google.

 
 
Ad Group-Specific Issues

Objective: Learn how to identify and correct issues at the ad group level that may prevent ads from showing.

CPC or CPM Bid and Daily Budget 

If the cost-per-click (CPC) or cost-per-thousand impressions (CPM) bid for your ad group is higher than your campaign daily budget, the ads won't run. To lower your CPC or CPM bid from the campaign details page, check the box next to your ad group, and click the Edit Bids button.

Ad Group Status 

Ads in paused or deleted ad groups will not show. To resume a paused ad group, check the box next to the ad group, and click the Resume button above the Campaign Details table. To restore a deleted ad group, click the Undelete Ad Group link next to the ad group title and status at the top of the page.

Ad Approval Status 

We may disapprove an ad if it doesn't meet Google's editorial and policy guidelines. If an ad is disapproved, it will stop running. When you have a disapproved ad, an alert box will appear in your account. In addition, your ad will also be marked as 'Disapproved.'

Click on View reason(s) under the affected ad to see the specific disapproval reasons. Then make the appropriate changes. Editing your ad will automatically re-submit it for review. Visit our Editorial Guidelines to learn more.

To view all your disapproved ads, you can click View all ads in the alert box. You can also go directly to the Tools > Disapproved Ads page to make corrections to your ads.

Adult Content 

Ads for sites containing sexually explicit material will only show alongside search results on Google.com that contain adult material. A Google search results page that contains very little adult content will not display adult ads.

To enable an adult ad to show, use specific keywords that are relevant to your targeted audience. You can also try searching for one of your keywords in combination with a more sexually explicit phrase, such as 'xxx.'

Please note, some of the sites in the Google Network may restrict advertising or keywords based on their own policies regarding content and editorial standards.

Missing Keyword/Placement or Ad Text 

If you're running a keyword-targeted campaign, check to make sure your ad group contains at least one ad and one keyword. If you're running a placement-targeted campaign, make sure that the ad group contains at least one ad and one placement.

 
 
Keyword- and Placement-Specific Issues

Objective: Learn how to identify and correct issues with your keywords or placements that may prevent your ads from showing.

Keyword or Placement Bids 

If you have chosen to specify values for your keywords or placements, remember to make sure that the CPC or CPM values don't exceed your campaign's daily budget.

Keyword Status 

Your ad will not show for keywords that are disapproved, deleted, or inactive for search. However, inactive for search keywords can still trigger ads to appear on the content network. You can see the status of a keyword in the Status column on your Ad Group Details page.

  • Disapproved keywords: Refer to the disapproval email you received for instructions on how to re-enable a disapproved keyword. Or, visit the Editorial Guidelines page or the Content Policy page.
  • Deleted keywords: Re-add the deleted keyword to your ad group to re-enable it. If you delete a keyword and add it back to your account in any other format or any other location (another ad group, for instance) our system takes the keyword's account-wide performance into consideration. A poor performer can affect an entire ad group or campaign. For this reason, we recommend you regularly review your account's performance and either optimize your keyword or increase its CPC bid to the minimum bid.
  • Inactive for search keywords: To enable a keyword that is inactive for search, visit the Keyword Analysis page for recommendations. Often, a keyword is inactive due to its Quality Score or a low minimum bid. The Keyword Analysis page will outline any problems and provide steps to help you get the keyword running again.

    To launch the Keyword Analysis page, first point your cursor over the magnifying glass icon beside any keyword in your account. A help bubble appears, which gives you a snapshot of your keyword's Quality Score and whether or not your keyword is triggering ads. Then, click one of the 'Details and recommendations' links to access the Keyword Analysis page or the Ads Diagnostic Tool.

Increasing Your CPC Bid to the Minimum Bid 

If your keyword is marked inactive for search, we'll list the minimum bid in the Status column on the Keywords tab in your Ad Group Details page. To increase your keyword's CPC bid to the recommended bid:

  1. Sign in to your account at https://adwords.google.com.
  2. Click the campaign you'd like to review in your Campaign Summary page.
  3. Click the appropriate ad group.
  4. Select the Keywords tab.
  5. Click the Increase quality or bid to activate link that appears below inactive for search in the Status column.
  6. Enter the new CPC bid (which should be the same as or greater than the required minimum bid listed), and click Submit.
If you've set the CPC bid at the ad group level, your remaining keywords default to an ad group CPC bid.

Increasing CPC bids for campaign-wide keywords

You can also increase your CPC bids to the minimum bid for keywords across all or selected campaigns using AdWords Editor, our free, downloadable campaign management application. To learn more, visit the AdWords Editor website.

 
 

5c. Reports

How to Create a Report

Objective: Understand what reports are and how they are used. Learn where to find reporting features and how to create customized reports based on your needs.

Reports Explained 

Reports are collections of statistics that help advertisers analyze their accounts.

The AdWords Report Center can generate fully customizable reports on specific topics such as campaigns, keywords, and ad text. These reports let users identify important trends over weeks, months, or years. Most reports can also be viewed as graphs, which offer a clean look at spikes and dips in traffic, CTR, or other key elements of an account. And because each report can be customized with configurable columns and performance filters, they provide just the information you need to help you identify your strengths and build on them, and to sniff out areas of low performance and optimize these areas accordingly.

You can view your reports online, or you can download them to your computer and view them with a spreadsheet application, such as Microsoft Excel. You also can have reports generated and emailed to you regularly.

Creating AdWords Reports 

We currently offer nine types of performance reports, each fully customizable based on the levels and types of data you want included. These report types, which cover the basic data users most often want to see, are:

  • Keyword Performance: Displays details on selected keywords and organizes statistics by keyword.
  • Ad Performance: Presents relevant statistics for ad variations, such as text ads, image ads, video ads, and local business ads.
  • URL Performance: Displays statistics and measures the performance of destination URLs.
  • Ad Group Performance: Organizes statistics for each of your ad groups.
  • Campaign Performance: Organizes statistics for each of your campaigns.
  • Account Performance: Generates statistics for your entire account, or for a portion of your account.
  • Search Query Performance: Shows performance data for the search queries that triggered your ads which appeared after receiving clicks.
  • Placement Performance: Shows statistics for ads that appeared on specific domains or URLs in the Google content network.
  • Reach and Frequency Performance: Find out how many people saw your ads and how many times they saw them over a certain period of time.

Creating your report is as simple as following our four-step form, and then clicking 'Create Report' when you're done. Here's how:

  1. Report Type: To begin creating your report, select your Report Type from radio buttons beside each report name. Your options on the remainder of the page will ajdust according to the type of report you have chosen.
  2. Settings: In this section, you establish your report View and Date Range, and which ad groups and campaigns to include.
    • View: Choose 'Summary' for a high-level overview of all your selected stats, or choose from among 'Hourly (by date or regardless of date),' 'Daily,' 'Weekly,' 'Day of week,' 'Monthly,' 'Quarterly,' or 'Yearly' metrics for your account.
    • Date Range: Use the pull-down menu and select a time period (i.e. 'Last seven days,' 'Last 30 days,' 'This month,' etc.) for your report. For specific dates for summary, Daily or Weekly views, click on the date fields underneath the pull-down menu. Clickable calendars will appear, from which you can select report beginning- and end-dates. (Note: Hourly report data is available from February 1, 2006 onwards).
    • Campaigns and Ad Groups: To include all campaigns, choose the first radio button. For individual campaigns or ad groups, choose the manual selection option and click on the campaigns and/or ad groups you want included in your report. Choose as many or as few as you want included.
  3. Advanced Settings: In this optional section, you can customize columns and filters so your report includes only the data you want to see.
    • Columns: Click the 'Add or Remove Columns' link to reveal check boxes for each of the available column categories for your report type. You'll find a wide range of choices, including Impressions, Clicks, CTR, Avg CPC, Cost, Avg Position, Campaign, Daily Budget, Campaign Status, Ad Group, Ad Group Status, Headline, Display URL, and many others. As you add or remove columns, the visual column display is updated based on your selections.
    • Filters: Click the link to 'Filter Your Results' for filter options based on your report type. Filters allow you to refine up to four data types. Use the pull-down to select and customize the relevant data types for your report. Depending on your report type, your filter options may include Ad Distribution, Status, Match Type, Site/ Keyword, Avg Position, Clicks, Cost, Avg CPC, CTR, and Impressions, among others.
  4. Templates, Scheduling and Email: In this section, you'll name your report, save it as a template if you want to reuse your settings, and provide an email and format for receiving your report.
    • Name Your Report: Enter a title for your report. Pick a name that will be easy to recognize when you see it on a list of other reports you've created.
    • Templates: Check the box to 'Save this as a report template' if you want to run similar reports later.
    • Scheduling: If you want to run this report on a regular basis, check the box to schedule automatic reports and choose from the pull-down schedule menu (for delivery daily, every Monday or on the first of every month).
    • Email: To receive an email when your report is ready, check the box and then list the email address or addresses you want notified (for multiple addresses, separate each email with a comma). If you want your report attached to the email, check the next box and select your preferred report format from the pull-down menu (.csv, .csv for Excel, .tsv, .xml, .html).

You're almost done! Now, just click the 'Create Report' button and you'll see a screen confirming that your report has been submitted.

At the top of the page you'll see Google's estimate of how long your report will take to generate. (Most reports take a few minutes or less.) Next comes a text box directing you to the Download Center, where you can review your report when it is completed. To the right you'll see details of the report you have just run.

An important note: You don't have to wait at this page for your report to finish running. You can continue to browse through your account, sign off for a time, or even shut down your computer and return later. The report will continue to run and should be ready for you when you return. And if you requested an email notification and / or attached report, the report notice and attachment will be sent as soon as the report is completed.

You can view your report online in three formats: as data only, as graphs created from your data, or as both data and graphs together in one report.

If you prefer to download the report to your computer, you can do so in the same formats you can choose from for emailing your report: .csv (for Excel), .csv, .tsv, .xml., and .html .csv (comma-separated values) and .tsv (tab-separated values) files are encoded in UTF-8. These formats are recommended for users who prefer to process or review report data in text-only format. .csv (for Excel) files are encoded in UTF-16LE, and are compatible with most U.S. and international versions of Microsoft Excel. Select .xml (for 'Extensible Markup Language') to place your statistics in a database or on a website. Select .html (for 'Hypertext Markup Language') if you want to be able to view your report as a webpage. You may also open your report as a Google Spreadsheet for easy viewing and collaboration purposes.

Reports Graphs 

If you click on the View report link, your report will contain the fields and values you selected along the top. The table is dynamic, so you can sort by each metric by clicking on the name.

To save your graph, click 'Export Report' and select 'Download graph.'

 
 
Additional Reports Features

Objectives: Learn how to download and save reports and edit report templates, and get some basic report troubleshooting tips.

Report Center 

Under the Reports tab in your AdWords account, you'll see a link for the Report Center. Click on this link to view your reports.

In the Report Center, you'll find links to your most recently created reports, under the header Saved Templates as well as your scheduled reports and any on-demand reports you saved as templates.

The Last 15 Reports section presents the last 15 reports you've created, along with the date range they covered, the dates they were requested, and their status (usually Completed). To view a report in this section, click on the report name.

An important note: Once you create more than 15 reports, the system will automatically delete your oldest report whenever a new one arrives. If you have scheduled a daily report, for instance, the oldest report will be deleted each day to make room for the new one. You can also delete reports you no longer want saved on this list by clicking the Delete link on the far right of the report name line.

Within the Saved Templates section, you can see all scheduled and on-demand reports saved as templates when you created them. The table tells you the date range for each, the time when each scheduled report will run next, and whether you're receiving the report by email. You can run either an on-demand report or a scheduled report by clicking the link marked Create Report.

You can also edit any of these saved templates by clicking the Edit this template link. This will open up the template in the Edit Template page, which is similar to the Create Report page that you used to create the original report upon which you based the template. Here, you can revise your saved template by reassigning report values for Report Type, Date Range, View and Campaigns and Ad Groups. And you can further customize your new report by resetting the columns and filters within the Advanced Options section.

Once you have edited your template, you can choose to rename the template, schedule reports for automatic delivery, assign an email address or addresses for notification, and select a format for report delivery. Then just click Save Template and you're all done creating a new report from your saved template.

To permanently delete a report template at any time, click the Delete link.

Email Reports and Multiple Email Addresses 

You can receive an email notification of a completed report, or receive the report itself via email in one of five formats that you can specify when you create your report.

Check the box next to the statement Whenever the report runs, send email to: when creating the report and then type into the text box the email address or addresses to which you want notification sent when the report is finished. For multiple email recipients, separate each email address with a comma. If you schedule the report to run regularly, you'll be notified each time the report runs.

By checking the box for with report attached as: you also can choose to have your report sent as an email attachment. Select your preferred report format from the pull-down menu: csv (for excel), .csv, .tsv, .xml, and .html

Please note that files will be emailed in a zip, or compressed, format. Compressed reports must be less than 2 megabytes in order for the report to be sent via email. If the file is larger than 2 megabytes, you will receive an email notification asking you to retrieve your report from the Report Center.

 
 

5d. Basic ROI and Conversion Tracking

Understanding ROI

Objective: Learn how to calculate your advertising ROI (return on investment).

Calculate Your ROI 

The term 'conversion' refers to converting from leads to customers or users of your service. So if someone clicks on your AdWords ad, and buys something on your site, that click is a conversion from a site visit to a sale. Other conversions you might want to track are page views or signups.

Advertising is only effective if it generates measurable results for your business. Your Google AdWords account is an investment of time and money that you use to drive customers to your website. In this lesson, the resulting conversions are called your return on investment, or AdWords ROI.

ROI can also be called Return on Ad Spend, or ROAS. Your ROI can be calculated as revenue from sales, minus advertising costs, all divided by the cost of advertising. For example, if your advertising costs for the past week were US$500 and you've sold US$1,000 worth of inventory as a result, you have a 100% ROI for the week ((US$1000-US$500) divided by US$500). To express ROI as a percentage, you multiply the result of this formula by 100.

Determining your AdWords ROI can be a very straightforward process if your business is after web-based sales. You'll already have the advertising costs for a specific time period for your AdWords account in your Campaign Summary statistics. You can also create reports via the Report Center. The net profit for your business can then be calculated based on your company's revenue from sales made via your AdWords advertising, minus the cost of your advertising. Dividing your net profit by the advertising costs will give you your AdWords ROI for that period in time.

In other cases, your ROI may require a different formula. For example, if you're interested in calculating the ROI for a page view or lead, you'll have to estimate the values of each of these actions. For example, a Yellow Pages ad for your business may cost US$1,000 per year and result in 100 leads. Ten of those leads become customers, and each customer provides an average revenue of US$120. The value of each lead is therefore US$12 (US$1200 revenue/100 leads), and your ROI for the Yellow Pages ad is 20% ((US$1200 revenue minus US$1000 spent)/US$1000 advertising cost) x 100.

A simple alternative to estimating values for your leads and page views is to use a cost-per-acquisition (CPA) measurement. This method will allow you to focus primarily on how your advertising costs compare to the number of acquisitions those costs deliver. Using the Yellow Pages example again, your ads may cost US$1,000, resulting in 10 sales: therefore, your CPA for those ads is US$100. Your CPA should not exceed your profit derived from each acquisition. In the case of the Yellow Pages ad, the CPA is 20% less than the revenue the acquisitions provide.

Example - Camera Shop 

Ultimately, your ROI calculation will help you determine the best way to spend your advertising dollars. For instance, if you represent a camera shop that sells photography equipment and provides photography classes, the keywords 'photography' and 'photography classes' could both potentially be valuable to you. However, how would you determine which keyword would have the greater potential ROI for your business?

Assume that you have a US$100 daily advertising budget. The keyword 'photography' generates 110 clicks, resulting in US$120 in sales, but it also costs you US$60 a day. This results in an ROI of 100% for that keyword. The keyword 'photography classes' uses only US$25 of the daily advertising budget, but generates 40 clicks. These clicks result in US$90 in sales, with an effective ROI of 260%. This advertiser would be better served allocating more of their budget to the 'photography classes' keyword because of its higher ROI, despite the potential for fewer clicks for this keyword.

 
 
Introduction to Conversion Tracking

Objective: Understand and implement AdWords conversion tracking.

Defining a Conversion 

An AdWords conversion occurs when someone clicks on your AdWords ad and performs a behavior on your website that you recognize as a completed sale or collected lead. Conversions can include the purchase of a digital camera, a visitor submitting their contact information for an insurance quote, or a prospective buyer downloading a white paper about your company's software capabilities.

The conversion rate listed in your account is the number of conversions divided by the number of ad clicks. Conversions are only counted on Google and some of our Google Network partners. The conversion rate is adjusted to reflect only the ad clicks on which we can track conversions.

Another important term to understand when tracking conversions is 'transaction.' While a conversion represents somebody coming to your site through AdWords and making a purchase, the transaction represents the purchase or desired visitor action itself.

Setting It Up 

Conversion tracking is free - all you need is an AdWords account and access to your website's HTML. Setting up conversion tracking is a straightforward process that gets you started tracking overall conversions with minimal steps. You can also select advanced conversion tracking options with more customized preferences such as assigning unique conversion values. With conversion tracking in general, you can specify conversion types such as purchases or sales, leads, signups, and page views. You can also create your own conversion type from the Other option. The advanced settings options will be covered in detail in later topics.

To set up conversion tracking for your active ads, log in to your account and click the Conversion Tracking link on the Campaign Management tab at the top of your account.

Disabling It 

You can stop or re-start conversion tracking at any time. To do so, log into your account and click the Conversion Tracking link on the Account Management tab, then click Stop conversion tracking. To stop sending tracking data to Google or remove the Google Site Stats text, remove the conversion tracking code from your website. Stopping conversion tracking in your AdWords account will remove the statistics and tracking information from your AdWords account pages. However, your reporting data will still be available via the Report Center.

 
 
Getting Your Conversion Tracking Code

Objective: Understand how to select your settings and implement your conversion tracking code.

Site Security Level and Language 

There are two important options to consider while setting up conversion tracking: the security level of the HTML code you would like to implement, and the language you want to use for your Google Site Stats link and corresponding informational page. The choice of 'http://' or 'https://' conversion tracking code is determined by the security level of your conversion page. Most shopping carts will use the more secure 'https://' option, and you can easily determine your own needs by examining the address bar in your web browser when you access your conversion page. If in doubt, use the more secure 'https://' since it will have no negative effects on your website.

Your choice of language will affect which Google Site Stats link is displayed on your conversion page. It will also give your users information about conversion tracking in a language appropriate for the majority of your site's visitors.

Implementing Your Code 

Adding the code to your website is a simple cut-and-paste procedure. Make sure that you copy all of the code from within your account and that when adding the code to your website it is completely within the HTML <BODY> </BODY> tags, as shown here:

[Purchase Conversion Default: Sample code snippet only - DO NOT USE]

<html>
<body>
<!-- Google Code for Purchase Conversion Page -->
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
var google_conversion_id = 1234567890;
var google_conversion_language = "en_US";
var google_conversion_format = "1";
var google_conversion_color = "666666";
if (1) {
  var google_conversion_value = 1;
}
var google_conversion_label = "Purchase";
//--> </script>
<script language="JavaScript"
src="http://www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion.js">
</script>
<noscript>
<img height=1 width=1 border=0
src="http://www.googleadservices.com/pagead/conversion/1234567890/?value=1&label=Purchase&script=0">
</noscript>
</body>
</html>

The Google Site Stats Link 

The conversion tracking code snippet will show a visible Google Site Stats text block on your website's user-facing confirmation pages to indicate that a conversion has been completed. This text will only appear to users who have been referred to your site by Google.

You should check your conversion reports to ensure that the conversion has recorded correctly. The Site Stats text link is an important feature of the program. It lets users know that you're tracking their purchase, and gives them a link to more information about Google conversion tracking.

If you can't see the Site Stats link, verify that the conversion code has been added to your webpage with no additional line breaks (compare your page to the conversion code available within your account). Some HTML editing programs will insert line breaks into the conversion code for the lines that are long enough to have wrapped to a second line in your account. The conversion tracking code should not have any line breaks inside of the '<' and '>', unless there is a ';' at the end of the line.

Verifying Your Code 

You can verify if the code is working by waiting for a conversion to occur or completing a test conversion yourself. If you know that a conversion has occurred on your site from an AdWords ad, check the conversion column in your reports to see that the conversion registered. Please note that updates to your account reports may take up to 24 hours.

You can also run through the process yourself by searching on Google, clicking on one of your ads and completing a conversion on your site. However, this method costs you an ad click, so we recommend that you wait for a conversion to occur.

 
 
Using Conversion Data to Improve Your ROI

Objective: Learn to:

  • Analyze conversion statistics
  • Determine the return on investment, or ROI, of your campaigns
  • Improve campaign performance using your conversion data

Your Data 

Once you've implemented conversion tracking, two new columns will appear on all of your campaign management screens. The Conversion Rate and Cost/Conversion columns give you a quick overview of how your campaigns are doing, but they don't include any of the advanced statistics available through your Report Center.

The Conversion Rate is the percentage of clicks that become conversions. Cost/Conversion is the cost you've accrued over the time period which you're viewing, divided by the number of conversions you received as a result of those clicks. This data will give you a quick overview of how well your clicks are converting, and the average cost of those conversions.

Ad Group Data 

The conversion tracking statistics available in your AdWords account will provide the data you need to improve your ROI. Statistics are available both at the ad group level and via the Report Center.

Your ad group summaries will include conversion rate and cost-per-conversion data. Again, conversion rate is a basic percentage, highlighting the percentage of clicks you received that resulted in a conversion. Your cost-per-conversion number represents the total cost of clicks for that campaign or ad group, divided by the number of conversions. This number will help you to quickly evaluate your ROI for the ad group as a whole.

Report Center Data 

Your Report Center gives you detailed and specific conversion tracking information. Generating a custom report will give you access to all of your conversion statistics, including the number of transactions and your cost-per-transaction. See the Reports lesson to learn more.

A Custom Report enables you to evaluate keywords based on performance for each transaction type. Even seemingly relevant keywords may not provide the ROI you expect, so careful evaluation of the actual conversion and transaction data is essential for optimizing your campaigns.

After selecting the relevant conversion tracking fields for your report, you can start evaluating your account's performance. Conversion rate and cost-per-conversion are important statistics to monitor, but each individual conversion can lead to multiple transactions as users shop for various products on your site or return later to make additional purchases. Consequently, your transaction and cost-per-transaction statistics can prove even more valuable, since acquiring regular customers is more valuable than any single conversion. Tracking your transaction statistics can provide valuable insight into the effectiveness of your advertising, as well as the effectiveness of your site and the value of your product offerings.

Advanced Option Conversion Statistics: The conversion tracking statistics in your AdWords account provide data for improving your ROI. When you select the advanced option, you'll receive data based on the unique conversion values you have set.

Troubleshooting Tips 

Improving the conversion performance of low-ROI keywords can help make your advertising budget last. Helpful questions to ask include:

  • Are the keywords targeted and relevant enough to produce the desired results?
    If a keyword is too general, you run the risk of getting clicks to your site that aren't really relevant, and have a lower conversion rate. By narrowing the appeal of your keywords (using tennis racquet instead of just tennis), you'll get more relevant clicks and customers coming to your website.

  • If the keywords are well-targeted, then is your site hindering your conversion rate?
    Taking a prospect directly to the most relevant page on your site can boost your conversion rate. Improving the usability of your site in general by making it easier for prospects to find and purchase your products or services can make a huge difference in your conversion rates.

Limitations 

The Google conversion tracking system has a few limitations. Because the tracking code is JavaScript function associated with a cookie, Internet users who have disabled cookies or JavaScript in their Internet browsers won't be tracked. For this reason, multiplying the number of clicks you have received by your Conversion Rate may not always be an accurate way to calculate the number of conversions you have received, but should be a close approximation. In your reporting, clicks which can't be tracked aren't included in your conversion data.

 
 

5e. Advanced Conversion Tracking

Introduction to Advanced Conversion Tracking

Objectives: Understand the functions of advanced conversion tracking options.

Background 

The advanced conversion tracking option enables you to select different values for each transaction type. You can even track dynamic values that change for each transaction (also called 'dynamic variables'); for example, total purchase amounts.

To select advanced conversion tracking options and obtain your modified code, set up conversion tracking and click Advanced option to the right of each conversion type. You can set up conversion tracking by clicking the Conversion Tracking link, located beneath the Campaign Management tab in your account.

Conversion Types 

AdWords provides four types of conversions that you can define. These should cover the majority of conversions you'll want to track. These are: Purchase/sale, Leads, Sign-ups, and Page Views. You can also create your own conversion type using the Other label.

  • The Purchase/Sale label helps online commerce sites track purchases and sales.
  • The Leads label tracks how many users reached a point in your website at which they have contacted your company, such as completing a 'request more information' form on your website.
  • The Sign-ups label can track how many users elected to subscribe to a newsletter or to download a white paper.
  • The Page views label enables you to track when a visitor navigates to a specific page that you think is valuable.
  • The Other label enables you to define your own conversion type.

The transaction types are just labels; you're not restricted to tracking only these types of transactions. Transaction labels can be assigned to any conversion page you would like to track.

 
 
Getting Your Conversion Tracking Code

Objectives: You'll learn how to:

  • Define values for your conversions.
  • Implement and verify your conversion tracking code.

Static Variables 

The advanced conversion tracking option enables you to define a value for each transaction. If the value of each transaction (conversion) does not change (that is, it is static), use the Value field, which accepts integer values. For example, if you're tracking signups for a newsletter on your site, and you have determined that signups are worth US$25 to your company, you would enter '25' into this field. Entering a value for the conversion into the advanced field will allow AdWords to calculate the ROI associated with that transaction. Using the value of the transaction and the cost data, AdWords can get an accurate cost per conversion.

Non-Static (Dynamic) Variables 

You'll often place conversion tracking code on a page that summarizes for your users the total dollar cost of their purchase. Since the value of each customer's transaction is different, the webpage uses what's called a dynamic variable. A dynamic variable is a value that changes based on automated calculations, and is part of the code on the page.

You can track dynamic transaction values by inserting a dynamic variable in the Value field when setting up conversion tracking.

Conversion tracking works with most of the popular webpage development languages available. For example, ASP users most likely have a dynamic variable such as <%=totalValue%>, while sites built with PHP resemble <?echo $totalValue?>.

Verifying Your Code 

Verifying that you correctly added the conversion tracking code to your website is as simple as viewing your conversion page in any web browser. If you can see the Google Site Stats link, then the code has been correctly placed and you're now tracking conversions. However, there are some common errors that could provide irregular results for your conversion tracking statistics. Placing your conversion tracking code on the landing page of your ad, for example, would result in a 100% conversion rate. Similarly, if you run a report for your advanced transaction labels and do not receive the correct value for your transactions - or you are returned the correct value but the transaction type is incorrect - check to make sure that you have copied the conversion tracking code correctly and completely from within your account.

2008/04/12
posted by The Author @ 20:32  
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